In-box 1

Women stereotyping nowadays remains intact. It is like a glued-stick  cobweb in the minds.

When my husband priest decided to transfer into other diocese from his diocese of origin, the diocese we both belong, I and our four kids, did not react because we know there are reasons behind. However, what angered me when I was being asked why I do not follow my husband? What for? What’s the big deal?

I just could not understand why there is always pressure for women to just follow the men? When in fact I was left with our four children, ages range between twenty-two and eighteen? They said, they are already grown ups so they can be left alone? NO! Our children are still young, and at their age they need parental guidance and care, the more they need my presence. Besides I have my church assignment, too and I have two more years to finish my term. Reactions differ to my response of my refusal to follow my husband.

Well, I have my own reasons, too which I believe are more important than the reactions I got. Talk of being subjective and always find my own way, asserting rights and authority depend on what type of shoes the one commenting is wearing! When a woman speaks and says NO, she becomes different and her words/stance seem unacceptable but never one asked what are her reasons… tsk, tsk, tsk… poor me?

 

 

Leave a Reply

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 8,583 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 784 other followers

Follow womanclergy on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 784 other followers

